Adult Education

Curricula Design for Adult Learners

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Emily Glikas 2 weeks, 3 days ago.

• Author

Kevin Chan
    Participant

Hello!

I am new to NROC, having searched the internet for an online forum revolving around adult education – I stumbled upon this platform. I hope to engage with everyone here if this forum is still active. The HippoCampus tool is a resource I will likely be using in my own professional practice.

I was curious if anyone in the field of adult education cared to share any experiences or opinions on curricula design for adult learners. I am currently in school for education, and a large portion of my focus at the moment is planning, instruction, and assessment.

Currently there are 4 modes of curricula conceptions:

• Individual – focuses on self regulated learning or inquiry based learning
    • Society – focuses on learning to conform with the needs of society
    • Technology – focuses on learning through the means of technology or ‘how to learn’
    • Academia – focuses on learning for the sake of academics and acquiring high levels of knowledge

How prominent are any, some, or all of these in your fields of practice? Do some stand out more than others? Are there conceptions that don’t get used at all?

Very curious to hear back.

Kevin

Emily Glikas
    Participant

Hello Kevin! Welcome to the group!

I am the Instructional Coordinator for our adult education program here in Clovis, NM and I typically use a bit of all four models in designing our curriculum.